The return of the DRASSM to France's western coastline

Following the six-year archaeological campaign at Saint-Vaast-La-Hougue, which from 1990 to 1995 brought together professional and volunteers, the Natière site was, for a decade, the flagship underwater archaeological project along France's western coastline.
The campaign drew volunteers flocked from all over western France, as well as students, professionals from outside France and civil servants from other government departments in charge of protecting France maritime cultural heritage. The project was a training ground for professionals on whom the management of western France's underwater archaeological heritage would depend. However, the constraints linked to this training role involved considerable extra work for both the project leaders and the entire team.
This was all the more true as the team also welcomed a very large number of visitors, financial partners, archaeologists, diving specialists, managers of applied archaeological research labs, museum curators, shipwreck finders, naval history enthusiasts, and so on. Although time-consuming, these contacts contributed to the team's efforts, and established the Natière site as a place of exchange for all those interested in Atlantic seagoing history.

Multimedia

Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
The Natière site provided training for interns. (Ref. : NAT05_T0152)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
The Natière site provided a forum for exchange with local divers and for training interns. (Ref. : NAT03_T0028)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
The Natière site provided training for interns. (Ref. : NAT04_T256)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
Exchange and professional training. (Ref. : NAT07_T0209)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
Training for excavators. (Ref. : NAT07_T0047)
Frédéric Osada (Images Explorations) © MCC/DRASSM
Local relations. Pictured: Michel L'Hour is flanked by Stéphane Deschamps, regional archaeological curator for Brittany (left) and Michaels Bats from the Regional Archaeological Service of the Ministry of Culture and Communication (right). (Ref. : NAT01_M0147)
Frédéric Osada (Images Explorations) © MCC / DRASSM
The Natière site provided a forum for friendly encounters and exchange. (Ref. : NAT04_DO022)

Le retour du Drassm au Ponant

Successeur attendu du chantier qui, à Saint-Vaast-La-Hougue (Manche), assura pendant six ans, de 1990 à 1995, la symbiose entre les professionnels et les bénévoles de l’archéologie sous-marine le chantier de la Natière s’est imposé pendant dix ans comme l’emblème de l’archéologie sous-marine au Ponant.
Venus de toute la côte ouest, de très nombreux bénévoles, auxquels se sont mêlés des étudiants, des professionnels étrangers et les agents d’autres administrations en charge de la protection des biens culturels maritimes, y ont tour à tour été accueillis. Si de ce creuset doivent jaillir demain les futurs professionnels de la discipline et la confiance dont dépendra la gestion du patrimoine sous-marin du Grand Ouest, il demeure que les contraintes liées à ce rôle de formation ont imposé à la direction du chantier et à toute l’équipe de fouille une surcharge de travail non négligeable.
D’autant que l'équipe de fouille a aussi accueilli un très grand nombre de visiteurs, partenaires financiers, archéologues, spécialistes de la plongée, responsables de laboratoires de recherches appliquées à l'archéologie, conservateurs de musée, inventeurs d’épaves, passionnés d'histoire maritime… Ces contacts ont en contrepartie enrichi la réflexion et établi la Natière comme un lieu d'échange privilégié pour tous ceux que passionne la culture maritime atlantique.

Médias

Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
Le chantier de la Natière est un lieu de formation des stagiaires. (Cliché : NAT05_T0152)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
Le chantier de la Natière est un lieu d'échange avec les plongeurs locaux et de formation des stagiaires. (Cliché : NAT03_T0028)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
Le chantier de la Natière est un lieu de formation des stagiaires. (Cliché : NAT04_T256)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
Échanges et formation continue. (Cliché : NAT07_T0209)
Teddy Seguin (Adramar) © MCC / DRASSM
Formation des fouilleurs. (Cliché : NAT07_T0047)
Frédéric Osada (Images Explorations) © MCC/DRASSM
Relation locale. Sur la photo : De part et d'’autre de Michel L'’Hour, Stéphane Deschamps, conservateur régional de l'archéologie de Bretagne et Michaels Bats du Service régional de l'archéologie du ministère de la Culture et de la Communication. (Cliché : NAT01_M0147)
Frédéric Osada (Images Explorations) © MCC / DRASSM
Le chantier de la Natière souhaite être un lieu convivial de rencontre et d'échange. (Cliché : NAT04_DO022)